Spektrum DX8 switches

A place for info or problems concerning Transmitters, Receivers or Servos.
User avatar
Rob
Posts: 176
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 10:13 am

Spektrum DX8 switches

Unread post by Rob » Tue Feb 12, 2013 9:37 pm

I dropped my DX8 a couple of days ago and bent the Elev and Flap switches. They still work but I'm a bit leary that they may become flaky over time.

I found this site that sells replacement switches but haven't used them before. The prices are very good and it looks like metal switches but they don't ship to Canada.

http://www.gravesrc.com/category_s/483.htm

I'm going to email to see if they will and update the post. In the mean time has anyone found a site that sells DX8 switches?
I suppose there is always "RAE or Gentronics but they tend to be pricey.

User avatar
karlpenney
Posts: 426
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 10:22 pm
Location: Halifax, NS

Re: Spektrum DX8 switches

Unread post by karlpenney » Wed Feb 13, 2013 12:15 pm

If you can figure out which switch you need, you can probably get one from digikey.ca. Their prices and shipping are good.

User avatar
Rob
Posts: 176
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 10:13 am

Re: Spektrum DX8 switches

Unread post by Rob » Wed Feb 13, 2013 1:15 pm

Thanks for the info Karl. Checked out their site, sooooo many switches to choose from!

User avatar
retiredVTT
Posts: 5361
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 9:59 pm
Location: Bedford, NS,CANADA
Contact:

Re: Spektrum DX8 switches

Unread post by retiredVTT » Wed Feb 13, 2013 1:19 pm

Rob wrote:Thanks for the info Karl. Checked out their site, sooooo many switches to choose from!
..Wow...19,899..!
Let us know when you have viewed them all..!
Excellent site..! http://www.digikey.ca/product-search/en ... es/1114212

Later Edit: Tower Hobbies sell switches for Futaba....will likely fit others...
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wt ... &search=Go



Bill
Last edited by retiredVTT on Sat Mar 16, 2013 1:40 am, edited 1 time in total.
Bill
HEFA #5
MAAC #13708

User avatar
Rob
Posts: 176
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 10:13 am

Re: Spektrum DX8 switches

Unread post by Rob » Sat Mar 02, 2013 5:51 pm

Just received replacement switches from GravesRC in the states. Put them in the radio, nice quality and fit perfectly. The details are as follows if you need to order in replacements. I think I got the last of old stock for the short switch as when I checked for this post there is a new stock number and price for the short switch.

FUTHSP55165 (1) $4.75
FUTHSP55180 (1) $5.50
Sub Total $10.25
Shipping:
USPS First Class $9.00

www.gravesRC.com

http://www.gravesrc.com/FUTABA_3_Pos_Lo ... p55180.htm
http://www.gravesrc.com/FUTABA_2_Postio ... p79127.htm

User avatar
AndrewS
Posts: 828
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 8:23 am
Location: Bedford, Nova Scotia

Re: Spektrum DX8 switches

Unread post by AndrewS » Sat Mar 02, 2013 7:45 pm

Sorry Rob that I didn't notice this thread earlier. I would have suggested checking with John at Maritime. That's where I got a replacement short armed switch for my 6i a couple of years ago. It also was a Futaba part. Greg ordered it for me. When I went to pick it up, John already had a couple on the shelf.
Andrew
Andrew Smith,
HEFA 3
MAAC 76250

User avatar
Rob
Posts: 176
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 10:13 am

Re: Spektrum DX8 switches

Unread post by Rob » Sun Mar 03, 2013 1:39 am

I have to check that out next time ... hopefully that won't be for quite awhile.

User avatar
waxman
Posts: 253
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 8:30 am
Location: Lower Sackville

Re: Spektrum DX8 switches

Unread post by waxman » Sun Mar 03, 2013 8:25 am

Rob wrote:I have to check that out next time ... hopefully that won't be for quite awhile.
Did you get things fixed Rob? I recently bought some three position toggle switches from The Source and RAE to fix my DX8. Futaba switches will work in the Spektrum radios as Spektrum solders the wires directly to the pins on the switch. Futaba switches need to be soldered to a small PCB and the pins are mounted off side the centre line.

John
John Liddard

User avatar
Rob
Posts: 176
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 10:13 am

Re: Spektrum DX8 switches

Unread post by Rob » Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:40 am

Hi John,

Yes, I put the switches in and they work great. No modification needed at all. Just solder the wires on and re-use the washers, rubber spacers and nut from the original switch. The guts of the switch are actually slightly smaller than the original so they fit inside the radio with plenty of room to spare. The only difference you can see externally is that the long switch has the same stick profile as the short switches just longer (the original was a thin round stick).

User avatar
Ghost Flyer
Posts: 989
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 4:09 pm

Re: Spektrum DX8 switches

Unread post by Ghost Flyer » Thu Apr 18, 2013 4:23 pm

Mighty Small Cars is able to order replacement TX switches for the Spektrum line of radios. I broke my 3-way mode switch on my DX 8 last winter. Geoff has ordered a replacement for me. He mentioned that this is something relatively new, that they can get. I also ordered a protective after-market TX case for my DX 8 for $30. :ugeek:
Andrew C.

Post Reply