Potential New Member

New to Halifax Electric Flyers? Let us know a little about you.
cacherjoe

Potential New Member

Unread post by cacherjoe » Thu Dec 29, 2016 12:15 pm

Hello,

I'm Joe. I have some experience in R/C Helicopters in the past and have recently moved into the world of quadcopters and am enjoying that. I also volunteer with a local Air Cadet Squadron.

I am interested in learning more about the R/C world and getting some airtime.

Joe

bdg

Re: Potential New Member

Unread post by bdg » Fri Dec 30, 2016 12:08 pm

Hey Joe!

Welcome to our forum. As you've hopefully learned, we are a group of 50+ RC enthusiasts (great bunch - supportive and knowledgeable in the hobby!) who enjoy flying planes, helicopters and multi-copters under the MAAC rules and safety umbrella. We are most busy in the spring/summer.fall and winter tends to be more "hit and miss". Many members have enjoyed winter flying - especially when winds are lower (say less than 15km/h) and temperatures are "decent" (say above -5C). Landing a waterplane on a fresh snow is a lot of fun!

Perhaps the biggest challenge that we are facing today is our lease of the Shannon Park field. This is our primary field and we've benefited from leasing the property from Canada Lands. This has been a great relationship and we have operated in a cordial manner and without safety incidents related to the public. There are many developments planned for the site and our time at Shannon Park is dwindling. We are hopeful for an extension of the lease - even for a few months at a time - but for now the lease expires on December 31.

All of our members are looking for a suitable field and we have support from some organizations trying to help in this regard.

We have offered flying instructions to new members and this is really the best way to learn the hobby. Last year, we had 5 active "students" who progressed nicely through the routines.